South Africa name preliminary World Cup squad

South Africa confirms AB de Villiers as the team's captain for the next year's World Cup. — AFP/File

JOHANNESBURG: AB de Villiers was confirmed as South Africa's captain for the Cricket World Cup when Cricket South Africa announced a 30-man preliminary squad for the global event on Wednesday.

There were no major surprises in the squad but there was no place for three members of the Test squad that was announced on Tuesday for a series against the West Indies — with batsmen Alviro Petersen, Stiaan van Zyl and Temba Bavuma overlooked.

The final squad of 15 is expected to be announced on January 7. The World Cup will be played in Australia and New Zealand from February 14 to March 29.

South African squad: AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla, Kyle Abbott, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, Marchant de Lange, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan Mclaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Aaron Phangiso, Vernon Philander, Andrew Puttick, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Mthokozisi Shezi, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Morne van Wyk and David Wiese.

Share on Google Plus

About hi

    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment


Post a comment